Tarot 4108 380KV

Hey there, I am just getting started, and I would like to know if it even makes sense to start testing with a Tarot 4108 380KV BLDC? I know it is not what this board is designed to handle, but I need to order proper motors and would like to just dive into it an test so code now…obviously without breaking anything!

These are the motor specs, while running it on a 15V 15A psup…
phase_inductance = 2.77221915894188e-05 (float)
phase_resistance = 0.2512487769126892 (float)
torque_constant = 0.021763157099485397 (float)
I could use a super low amp psup with flexible voltage output, or a 5V switching psup with 20A

Should I give it a try, or stay patient… :slight_smile:

The motor is fine. And it might be a bit too much powerful.
A PSU with programmable current limit is what you need .

Yes, you can use a motor like that with the SimpleFOC shield.
What you have to do is limit the current draw by limiting the voltage by changing these two parameters:

float voltage_limit = 1;
motor.voltage_sensor_align = voltageLimit/2;
motor.voltage_limit = voltageLimit;

Start with a really low voltage, maybe even lower than 1V and go from there. I like to have my sensor align voltage half of my voltage limit for closed loop control, but it doesn’t have to be that way.

Thanks for the reply guys…I will give it a try then!
Just getting started over here, and dont want to break stuff right away!

Is there a thread where best practice in motor choice discussion is going on?
It would definetely want to go ahead and buy some which are more suited for this scenario!

Hey David, now I realized I know you from that Dagor Brushless Controller that you are developing…are you over on Discord too?
Send me a link… :slight_smile:

I use discord, but I don’t know how to share my profile haha.
I don’t have a channel for the board. Maybe this may be of interest for some people, not sure.

Just add me, might be nice if there is something off topic to exchange… :slight_smile: