Quadruped Robot

Hi can anyone help me with finding the schematic or gerber files of the MIT mini cheetah motor controller if that it is open source. Any help would be appreciated thank you

Hi i am a newbie , do you recommend any other board ? Do you know any other open source boards that would be fun to work with?

It depends on your usecase: small gimbal motors to washmachine motors, anything goes.

You can find many BLDC controller boards on AliExpress. Odrive or VESC clones and general purpose controllers, which also run with simpleFOC (i.e. MKS )
Other guys have openSourced their controllers and you find their links here in the forum.

i’m planning on using a flycat 5010 360kv motor can you share me the link of any one of the open source boards that you may prefer

So, you expect me to lookup specs of your motor and find a matching driver?
I’m a fan of DIY, which is meant literally. I never copy anyones ideas or concepts without building my own opinion.

im sorry if i offended you in anyway

@KAVIN_G - we get a lot of people asking for advice and sometimes it feels like not much research has been done before clicking ‘post’.

I remember what it was like when i got into bldc first, took me a while to realise that board selection is hard!

Best place to start is to do a bit of rough ohms law. Start with the voltage you are intending to give the motor (look at spec of motor). Do you need to give it max motor voltage? If you only need half the motors max speed you may only need to provide half the voltage.

Now divide voltage by phase resistance (again motor spec) to give a rough guide to the current you’ll need from your driver.

Phase resistance can vary between 0.01 ohm (for high speed motors) to 15ohms (for gimbal motors. At a guess your motor probably has a resistance of about 0.5ohm (do check!).

Your motor choice means that you’ll probably be looking at a board/driver with external mosfets as your currents will be greater than 2A.