Is an encoder mandatory for torque control using inline current measurement?

Hello everyone !

I’m quite new to the simpleFOC library, i want a cheap way to control the torque of gimbal motors, from the github example I found this code :

From what I understand the code need an encoder built in the motor ? Is it mandatory to have that encoder even though I have inline current sensing ?

There are also voltage control one step above in the torque control github repo but they do not seem to use inline current sensing

Thank you for your answers !
Have a nice day

Yes I’m afraid right now you need some kind of angular position sensor, unless you want to go completely open loop, which can work for some things.

1 Like

Yes, you need the encoder. Torque is proportional to q axis current, but current sense gives you the combined q and d axis. No way to sort them out without knowing the rotor angle.

Thank you ! When you say rotor angle do you imply relative to the stator ? If so it has to be built in the motor right ? for exemple an outside magnetic position sensor would not work

An outside magnetic position sensor can certainly work! Many people use them. The magnet for the sensor has to be attached to the rotor, while the sensor remains stationary. In this way the sensor measures the absolute rotor position via the attached magnet.

1 Like

Oh ok ! since the github example uses voltage_control for torque control using a magnetic position sensor and the “true” current control (using inline current sensing) is used with an encoder I thought that an “inside” encoder was mandatory, but if i can use in line current sensing with magnetic position sensor for torque_control that’s a great news for me !
Thanks again for your answers !

maybe someday there will be an implementation of a sensorless observer :slight_smile:
For low speed it would probably require some HFI, though…

2 Likes