B-g431-esc1 CAN interface

Hi All,
I’ve done quite a bit of reading about using CAN with MCP2515 CAN Bus SPI Module Arduino and that makes sense, but its not clear to me how the integrated CAN is used in the b-g431-esc1.

I’ve also read these two threads but TBH I’m a little lost, and unsure if the libraries mentioned are applicable to the B-G and an Arduino dev environment. I’m not a software pro more a persistent hacker lol !

All I’m looking to do (at least initially) is to send individual position demands to multiple motors over a single CAN bus instead of individual hobby servo PWMs I’m doing Dev work with at the moment. I’ll be using them in a fairly harsh EMC environment and am expecting PWM not to cut it for that situation. Eventually I’ll want to return motor / driver status and other information to a central co-ordinating main board but small steps first.

Has anyone got a simple can bus exchange working on the b-g431-esc1, if so any advice on how to work with that interface within Arduino dev environment would be much appreciated.

Many thanks
Barry M

Here we go: GitHub - Igitigit2/SimpleCanLib

I am the author, but the code is a lot copied together from other sources.

Have fun,
Chris

2 Likes

@CNCModeller, I just saw that you were looking for Arduino explicitly. My lib works in the Arduino environment on Platformio, but not using the native Arduino tools. I would clearly recommend using platformio anyway. Arduino is great for very simple projects and to get started, but as soon as your projects get more complex, the Arduino environment will reach its limits.

Best regards,
Chris

Thanks @Grizzly, I guess I need to take the training wheel off and have a play with the Platformio IDE.

I was hoping not to have to go that far this early in the project but hey ho…

Wish me luck! :slight_smile:

Many Thanks
Barry M

1 Like

Good luck! It’s worth the efforts.

• Chris
2 Likes

Hi @Grizzly ,