Simple FOC implementation of Half Bridge Gate Driver

Hi All,

I am new to this forum and found many interesting projects and ideas to run BLDC motors and implementing the Simple FOC algorithm.

I have developed a simple BLDC driver circuit board using N-Channel Mosfet and half-bridge gate driver IC. I am using timing interrupt along with software interrupt at Arduino mega for switching the Mosfet. By varying the PWM signal, I am able to move the motor and change it’s spread.

Now, I want to Implement the Simple FOC on it but need a bit of advice. Currently, I am applying 3 PWM signals on the High-end side of the driver IC while just enabling the Lower end of the IC by a simple HIGH/Low command of the Arduino.

My question is to implement the FOC do I have to use the 6 PWM command or the 3 PWM command. Also, in the majority of the example, the voltage limit is set to 1 what is the reason for that?

My apologies, if it seems like a basic question but I am new to BLDC motors and slowly learning about it.

The Mosfet I am using are IRLR784TRPBF, Date Drive IC: IR2101sTRPBF, MC: Arduino Mega, BLDC Motor: Hall sensored 8 poles 52 Watt

It will not work. IR2101 needs 6 active PWM signals. It is not a good chip for your application and also your PCB-design is faulty.

Dear Jan_Donker,

Many thanks for your reply. Kindly, if you can advise me regarding the Fault of my PCB and what should be corrected.
thanks

Hello @MoidKhan

This is an interesting board you have. Reading the documentation of IR2101 it appears you will need 6 PWM. Also, it is difficult to tell anything about the design because you need to post the schematics, the PCB alone is hard to decipher because the elements have no values and traces are hard to follow. The reason for the 1v limit in the example code is to limit the voltage so you don’t over-heat or burn your motor, if your design is good and you make it work, you can increase the voltage tot he maximum in the code.

Cheers.

Hey @MoidKhan ,