Hello,

I am running SimpleFOC on the following setup

Ardunio Mega,
DRV8302 driver
1024 ppr encoder
Maxon 4 pole pair motor

Torque Control is Voltage
Motion Control is Angle

I have been trying to tune my setup for position / angle control but can’t seem to get over this behavior.

The blue = Target, Yellow = Angle, Green = Velocity, Red = Voltage.

As you can see the motor moves to 60% of the target very quickly then takes ages (approx 5 secs ) to move the rest.

I have tried increasing the P term in the angle loop but this just give big oscillations in a steady state.

What should I be adjusting?

Angle_Control

I’m a newbie in this, but here are some hints from my short experience:

• First you need to tune the velocity PID, because I think the angle control mode is based, underneath, on the velocity control mode. So set Motion Control to “Velocity” and look at the velocity curve when you suddenly change the velocity from 0 to X rad/sec. You need to achieve a velocity change that looks like the green curve here :

• When the velocity PID is correctly tuned, you can get back to Angle Motion Control and tune the angle PID the same way. However, the angle PID is usually more simple, something like 20;0;0 (P only).

• Would you please provide all your PID values? My guess is that you should increase “I” in the velocity PID.

• Don’t be afraid if you don’t get very good result in Voltage mode. You need to start in Voltage mode in order to tune the Velocity PID then Angle PID in isolation. But then you’ll need to switch to Current modes to achieve better results (this will add more headache, though, cause this will add 1 or 2 more PIDs).

2 Likes

Thanks quentin,

like you, I am a newbie to FOC and brushless motors but have a little understanding of control theory.