Please help me find the best solution for my project

Hello everyone,

Great project @Owen_Williams and wonderful community of SimpleFOC :+1:t3:
I’m an electronic hobbyist from Poland and looking for the best solution to control bldc motors for my projects. I would be grateful if you help me because I’m looking for the best solutions for few weeks now and my brain is starting to swell :wink:

I’ve bought B-G431B-ESC1 and Infineon IFX007T boards and AS5600 magnetic position sensors to test SimpleFOC library because I think it would be the best solution.

My main project is to create massaging device. The goal is to run two bldc motors simultaneously in closed loop in velocity mode (constant speed no matter the load) and be able to change speed by external device (probably raspberry pi or similar so driver should have spi or i2c communication. There will be few pairs of this configuration (but only pairs will be tangled) so uart is unsuitable because raspberry for instance has only 4 of it). Motors should also maintain the same position during work. Motors will change speed constantly and often stop and start so they have to have sufficient power when starting up. Operational speed range will be between 360 and about 4000 RPM (motors will rotate the crankshaft). It will be powered via cable so I think about 24V power supply. I don’t know now how much amps it should has but I think 300W would be enough. I want to test few solutions and find out desired power but I think no more than 500-600W.

Now I know B-G431B-ESC1 is to weak for my project and would probably explode running stationary in closed case. I am considering ordering SimpleFOC Power Shield and running 2 of them in stack on Arduino and connect about 5 stacked Arduinos with Raspberry via SPI.

And here are my questions :slightly_smiling_face:

1. Do you think SimpleFOC Power Shield would be sufficient for my project?