Motor in closed-loop voltage control slowly stops spinning

Hello all, I am new to the FOC community and I have a few with regards to closed loop operation of a BLDC motor. I have a Motor ( 14 pole 2216 BLDC) fitted with an absolute position encoder with ( 1024 PPR, SPI as well as quadrature outputs). I have gone through a bunch of the setup testing the encoder, as well as running the motor in open loop mode; all these tests were successful.

I moved on to testing the motor in closed-loop velocity mode. I found that the PID variables were rater hard to tune. The motor would either oscillate, or while running at about 20rad/s, would slow down while the motor current would rapidly rise to the max power allocated to the motor.

I then moved to voltage controlled torque mode ( I put PID tuning on hold ). The issue that I am having is I can get the motor to spin in closed loop mode for about 10 seconds, but then the motor starts to slow down and then stops spinning. I can boost the voltage and a similar fate happens. Can anyone please point me in the right direction on where to look to solve such a problem so I can ensure the system works.
Thank you all in advance

Hardware.
Controller - Arduino Uno
Driver - simplefoc shield v2.03
Motor - generic RC BLDC motor
Encoder - AMT203 ( just running in quadrature mode )

Notes:
The driver Is not overheating
Voltage limits set to not burn out the driver and motor.
I am monitoring the current with my power supply and it is limited to an appropriate value.

1 Like

Welcome, @CLIXXCLIXX !

Hmmm… the setup you describe is actually well-tested. The Arduino Uno is not the most powerful MCU, so your performance will be limited by this, but normal operation should be possible.

Are you using Arduino IDE?
Could you check the iteration speed of your main loop, i.e. how many times you are calling loopFOC() per second?
What is the phase resistance of your motor?