Magnetic Encoder Speed Limit

First off, this community has been very helpful. Thanks to everyone involved here. I’m currently working on converting a project from a DC gearmotor to BLDC and looking to use magnetic position sensing for a number of reasons. I have never used magnetic position sensors before. My concern is this note on the hardware page:

Encoder CPR: Rule of thumb for Arduino UNO

For Arduino UNO, the maximum number of pulses/second should not exceed 20,000. After this value it start to have execution issues. Please take this in consideration when choosing the encoder and especially if using more than one motor.

Example

If your CPR value is 10000, you will be able to spin your motor with max velocity 120rpm - 2 rotations/second

For my application, I need to achieve about 250rpm, but also smooth control near 0rpm. For the AS5047U with 16384CPR, 250rpm would create 68,000 pulses/second, which is far too many per the above note. I also want to avoid adding a secondary shaft and gearing to read the position.

My understanding of the sensor is that it is “absolute” and outputs a voltage from 0 to supply corresponding to its position, unlike other incremental encoders. Do I need to worry about breaking the speed limit with the sensor? Is there a way to configure the sensor to use less pulses? How would you go about using a magnetic encoder at 250RPM?

Thank you,
Brooks

The AS5047u supports ABI, SPI and PWM modes. i.e. you have at least 3 ways of getting hold of the angle data.

In your first paragraph you are right if you use it in ‘encoder mode’ i.e. using the ABI interface. This works identically to optical encoders. You’d typically use an interrupt to detect each pulse. Whilst the magnetic sensor is capable of absolute measurements - using ABI, you are losing this information. I therefore wouldn’t recommend ABI when you have better alternatives.