Limits to motor movement at startup

I’m studying the FOC init procedure (in initFOC()) and how well it plays with my constraints.

I know the motor characteristics, including the sensor_direction, so I guess I can skip the natural direction detection phase. Anyone ever saw sensor_direction changing across motors of the same model?

What I still need to measure for each motor/sensor, though, is the zero_electric_angle.

The issue is that my device imposes limits to the possible movements of my motor. It can only have a 30° angular range. After reading this page, my understanding is that setPhaseVoltage(voltage_align, 0, _3PI_2) might require, in the worst case scenario, a 180° rotation. Am I right?

How many pole pairs, and what kind of sensor? The zero angle move is in electrical degrees, so the jump depends on pole count, but probably still too much in your case.

You’ll probably have to write a custom calibration routine to find a cogging step inbetween the mechanical limits and figure the zero angle from that.

There are 6 cogging steps per electrical revolution. I’m fairly sure _3PI_2 is one of them, so the others should be in steps of _PI_3 from there. So call setPhaseVoltage with those angles, and if it fails to move, you can guess you’re at one of the mechanical limits. Try to find a step that’s definitely clear in both directions. Average the sensor reading you get when jumping to it from both directions, and then adjust according to how many steps you are from _3PI_2.

You’ll actually get a more accurate zero angle that way than with the built in calibration routine, which only approaches from one direction.

1 Like

Thanks @dekutree64 . My motor has 6 pole pairs.

The sensor direction will change if you switch any of the phase wires. So in order to be able to assume a sensor direction you have to: