Inputting and Reading Commander Commands

Hello All,

Apologizes if this is an obvious question, however for the life of me I can’t not figure it out (I am still fairly new to SimpleFOC and programming): How do you input or read a commander command to the motor driver while its running?

For example if I define M as a commander command to move the motor to a position, ahead of time, and then I want to tell the driver to run “M5” (or any other number of radians I want it to move while its running) how do I accomplish this through code? I want to eventually run a script that can read and send lots of commander commands autonomously, rather than doing it through the keyboard.

Thanks in Advance,

Logan

Hi Logan,

You can talk to the Commander via Serial, so depending on where your script is running, and what scripting technology you plan to use, you would solve this in different ways.
But in essence it would be a matter of opening the serial port in your script, and sending the commands as ASCII text, separated by newlines.

If you want to control from another Arduino board, then I2C might also be an option, check out the I2CCommander in our drivers repository.

@runger thank you for your reply. I would like to use I2C Commander because I would like to control many motors. Reviewing the I2C Commander information I now realize that my goal is a more complex one than I had anticipated.

Taking a quote for the read me of I2C Commander ReadMe:

As would be expected for I2C, each target device needs a unique I2C address on its bus, and setting up and discovering these addresses is out-of-scope for I2CCommander. Setting up and configuring the TwoWire objects (which pins, speed, etc…) is also out of scope and finished, initialized TwoWire objects must be passed to I2CCommander. If you don’t specify a different reference, the standard Wire object is assumed.