Inline current sensing problem?

Hello all,

I am new to FOC community, so I started my FOC journey by running the example codes that have been provided. When I use the inline current sensing example code, however, I run into some issues. I can get data from serial monitor and plotter, but I do not think this data is correct. My power supply displays the amps supplied to the board so I am able to have a ballpark guess of what the serial monitor should be reading. Unfortunately, they don’t seem to be close. Also, the data was noisy, so I applied a simple filter. I don’t think that would have caused any problems though. Another thing I tried was combining the inline current sensing example code with the voltage control example code so I could see what would happen to the current when the motor was spinning at different speeds given different voltages. Though the current displayed on the serial monitor/plotter only changed a minuscule amount, the current display on the power supply seemed to change much more. Am I thanking about this all wrong? Or have others had a similar problem? Or am I just painfully ignorant :frowning:?

Kindest Regards

1 Like

What hardware are you using?

FOC shield V2.0.3 and a GM4108 gimble motor.

Here is my code and a picture of my setup.

#include <SimpleFOC.h>

// current sensor
// shunt resistor value
// gain value
// pins phase A,B
InlineCurrentSense current_sense = InlineCurrentSense(0.01, 50.0, A0, A2);
float current_magnitude;

void setup() {
  // initialise the current sensing
  current_sense.init();

// for SimpleFOCShield v2.01/v2.0.2
  current_sense.gain_b *= -1;

Serial.begin(115200);
  Serial.println("Current sense ready.");
}

void loop() {

PhaseCurrent_s currents = current_sense.getPhaseCurrents();
    current_magnitude = current_magnitude*.98+.02*current_sense.getDCCurrent();

Serial.print(currents.a*1000); // milli Amps
    Serial.print("\t");
    Serial.print(currents.b*1000); // milli Amps
    Serial.print("\t");