Esp32 restarts when controlling 4 high power dc motors

Hi,

I have created a circuit that can control 4 dc motors simultaneously and driving them using SimpleDCMotor library.

The circuits works perfectly fine when I use drv8833 to control 4 small dc motors with encoders ( motor). These motors are rated 12v with max 300ma. You can see the whole setup working video here

But now when I replace drv8833 with zk-bm1 driver and higher power dc motor ( motor) , esp32 restarts.
It works perfectly controlling 2 motors simultaneously but restarts when I start using 4 motors.

You can see my circuit as shown below. Please don’t mind the design ( I am new to pcb designing and quickly drew this)

Things I have tried:

1. 2 separate power sources for motor and (esp32 + motors encoder)
  2. 3 separate power source 12v for motor, 5v for esp32 and 3.3 for motor encoders
  3. Added Capacitor 440uf at input 5v of esp32

So this is somehow related to pwm wires controlling this hungry motors, since the only difference is base rpms and max current these 2 motors can draw. But I am not able to figure out what I should do, could you please help me.

Hello, and welcome.

All that said, it seems you got a problem with the bulk capacitance. You need to quadruple the bulk caps and your problem may disappear? Also increase the capacitance a lot on the esp32.

Last but not least, isolate the esp32 from any EMF interference.

Cheers,
Valentine

Measure the current needed for each of the zk-bm1. The ESP32 can provide up to 40mA per pin (20mA recommended), but the LDO usually is limited to 250mA or so. You use 8 pins, even at 20mA each, you can exceed the LDO current and end up with a brownout and reboot (160mA for the 8 GPIOs, plus 100-150mA for the ESP32 itself).

You might need to use a separately powered buffer to limit the ESP32 current draw. Or you can try powering the ESP32 board with a clean, 1A 3.3V (so that you bypass the LDO on the ESP32 board)

1 Like