Can I use SimpleFOC for my project?

Hi all, first post here, I’m new to the forum! I am an engineering student and for my senior project, I am designing a motor controller for a 7kW (150Vdc) BLDC motor. My group and I are designing custom hardware based on existing requirements (setpoints fed in via the CAN bus, lots of temperature sensing, etc.). The hardware is based around the STM32F446. I am wondering if we can use SimpleFOC for our firmware architecture? If not, does anyone have any recommendations for other frameworks/libraries to use? I have been looking into STM’s native motor control library but I am finding it quite difficult to use and find good resources for. Any help is greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance!!

Edit: Some other tidbits of info:

• The motor does not have an encoder but does have hall sensors
  • We are operating in the 0-2000RPM range, ~150V, ~100A peak
1 Like

Hey @Alex_Ezzat,

Awesome project, please make sure to share with us the final product!

I’m sure SimpleFOC will work nicely. @Owen_Williams did the hall sensor implementation, I’m sure he can tell us if this type of sensor would work best for your application.

Hi @David_Gonzalez Thanks so much for the quick response! This is great news, I am really liking how straight forward the SimpleFOC library is (hence the great name!). As a quick follow-up, would this forum be the best place to basically spam questions? Just looking into the library a bit, I one question I have off the bat is the following:

It seems like the library only includes a single PID controller for velocity. I may be getting concepts mixed up here, but my system simulations use two independent controllers for the Id and Iq axes. Is there a way to consolidate these two control schemes?