B_g431_esc not enough torque in certain modes

Hello,

Im pretty new to this so please bear with me :smiley:

I am using the b_g431_esc board and as5048A sensor (PWM)

Why is it that I can use the code pasted below to get my motor to turn with good torque resistance (e.g. when the motor is spinning at target_velocity and I try to stop it with my hands, I feel strong torque and the current draw from my power supply nears the motor.current_limit).

But when I use code shown here which uses foc_current torque control (not mine): github link
the target velocity is reached but with very little resistance when I try to stop it with my hands.

In addition, when I use the code pasted below, sure there’s good torque resistance, but the max speed seems to be around target_velocity = 35-40 rad/s. Beyond this speed, the motor stutters slightly and the no-load current draw increases substantially (from 0.1A to 1A for instance). Are these a PID tuning issue? or…? Anything helps, thank you.

#include <Arduino.h>
#include "SimpleFOC.h"

BLDCMotor motor = BLDCMotor(12, 1.5);
BLDCDriver6PWM driver = BLDCDriver6PWM(A_PHASE_UH, A_PHASE_UL, A_PHASE_VH, A_PHASE_VL, A_PHASE_WH, A_PHASE_WL);
LowsideCurrentSense currentSense = LowsideCurrentSense(0.003f, -64.0f/7.0f, A_OP1_OUT, A_OP2_OUT, A_OP3_OUT);
MagneticSensorPWM sensor = MagneticSensorPWM(A_HALL1, 2, 925);

void doPWM(){sensor.handlePWM();}

// angle set point variable
float target_angle = 0;

// instantiate the commander
Commander command = Commander(Serial);
void doTarget(char* cmd) { command.scalar(&target_angle, cmd); }
void doCommand(char* cmd) { command.motor(&motor, cmd); }

void sensor_test(void)
{
	//sensor.update();
  Serial.print(sensor.getAngle());
  Serial.print("\t");
  Serial.println(sensor.getVelocity());
}

void setup() {

// initialise magnetic sensor hardware
  sensor.init();
  sensor.enableInterrupt(doPWM);
  motor.linkSensor(&sensor);

driver.voltage_power_supply = 14.8;
  driver.init();