Washing machine BLDC motor control with two Hall sensors

Hello,

I am new to BLDC motor control, but was very excited to see SimpleFOC control smaller motors beautifully! I am hopeful that it can be used to control a larger washing machine direct drive BLDC in a similar manner.

I am looking for your opinions if you think that SimpleFOC can work in this application:

I have a spare part outrunner motor from a Samsung front loader, I picked it because it was inexpensive and appears to have very high torque to slosh a tub of water around at slow speeds. I am hoping to use it to smoothly drive and change directions of a 1.2 meter diameter 10 kilo disk turntable that will be rotating below 40 RPM. There are no published motor specs that i can find, but here is what I know:

1. 36 poles, 3 phase, 13 ohms per phase, there is a neutral pin available if needed.
  2. Only two Hall sensors, spaced on either side of a single pole, Vin is unknown.
  3. Printed on the side of the rotor: DC310V 0.6HP 2.5A 1400RPM.

I designed and 3D printed a centering yoke to attach to the stator and a splined shaft to attach to the rotor to mate and keep an even airgap between the two components. The turntable has additional “lazy susan” bearing support to keep everything, including the rotor, level.

I connected this cheap BLDC speed controller to a 19V 10 amp laptop power supply, because that was available. I can only get the rotor to vibrate a bit and some small jerky movements, regardless of trying different combinations of motor control wires to the stator coils.

Future work:
I borrowed a 48v 5 amp power supply to see if it just needs more voltage to spin but I haven’t wired it up yet. I have the MKS Dual FOC V3.1 Plus ESP-32 controller, but I haven’t tried to flash FOC to it yet.

I am assuming that FOC needs feedback other than back EMF to do smooth bidirectional control.
Are the two hall sensors enough though?