Impact of Open loop ram startup?

Hello All,

I am new to Motor control of BLDC/PMSM and FOC control. My understanding so far is that for startup, we initially provide high RPM (Open loop Ramp), which will make motor consume more current, makes motor physical parameters like inertia less, just to start the motor. And, then we transition to closed loop i.e we get feedback from system about current and motor speed, and simultaneously PI controller for speed and current start to regulate speed and current.

But, what if this transition did not happened and motor continues to run in FOC open loop (no regulation of current). We still can command to any rpm and motor will run that but it should not be safe. I did see the phase current during open loop, which were high as compared to closed loop, but they were within motor limits.

Please help me understand the consequence of continuous open loop operation? And how to figure out the root cause for motor not transitioning to closed ?
Thanks in advance!

You don’t need to start in open loop and switch to closed loop. It’s all closed loop from the start.

This assumes you have a sensor e.g magnetic or encoder or hall measuring the position of the shaft.

Where I’ve seen something similar to what you describe is with sensorless foc or sensorless trapezoidal. Sensorless required you to measure back emf that is induced in the non driven phase. This doesn’t work at slow speeds because the bemf is too small to measure. So, in this case you can start openloop and switch to sensorless when bemf becomes measurable

Yes, Sorry I should have mentioned in some detail. Open loop ramp which I was mentioning was in sensor-less foc.