Dynamixel protocol with Simplefoc

Hello!

I share here a little piece of code I did to make a library that can be plugged to SimpleFoc using a Dynamixel Protocol.
Since the SimpleFoc is a nice project, shared and opensource, I prefer to release this code as GPL.
Also I’m not a hardcore coder and this is a WIP so please be kind :slight_smile:

Here is the link : https://github.com/robotsmith/SimpleFocDXLCore
Feel free to use, reuse, modify, enjoy.

Cheers!

4 Likes

This is interesting. I had a look at the video and didn’t quite get it. What is the physical layer of the protocol?

Well, Video is a bit messy I think ^^
The protocol is based on halfduplex UART.
It contains kind of memory direct access with CRC.

The main interest here is to have daisy chained servomotors with a robust protocol.
Also the Dynamixel is quite used and you have a lot of master compatible hardware.
This is quite used in educational robotics :stuck_out_tongue:

1 Like

Why not CAN? Daisychaining uart especially in a noisy environment is not robust.

CAN is clearly the best of course.
The idea here was to have a know protocol for hobbyist. Also usually it use the half duplex RS485, in TTL the solution is also cheap compared to an additional chip for CAN.
We use dynamixel in some project I needed something compatible with that.
Also I don’t have in my knowledge a generic CAN protocol, opensource well known.
I’m fully aware that is not the optimal solution! :stuck_out_tongue: Just a pragmatic one for me.

There is one I’m using but requires a can controller. Upside is that it’s generic, that is, works on any MCU using generic SPI, so you use generic SPI to send/receive CAN. SPI is very widely supported, unlike CAN which is very MCU specific.

You can daisychain as many as you want.

I’ve limited it to 125kbps with impedance end resistors for best noise control but you could go up to 1mbps with good wires and no resistor.

Nice!