• RPM: 2149~2375
  • Torque (g): 250-350
  • Voltage (V): 10V
  • Cunnrent (A): 0.07
  • Configuration: 12N14P
  • Winding Turns: 0.19*1-100T
  • Resistance(Ω): 5.57Ω
  • Hollow Shaft Diameter (mm):6.5

I’m new to motor control, and even to electronics. I know I’m in dangerous territory, because of this 5.57Ω. My multimeter tells me the line resistance is around 6Ω. So, if my understanding is correct, the phase resistance is around 3Ω.

I’m using a SimpleFOCShield and I’m starting with the single_full_control_example. My code is as follow:

// Measured voltage of my power supply (official value is 19V).
   driver.voltage_power_supply = 19.5;  

// I took the 10V above and subtracted 1 for safety.
   motor.voltage_limit = 9; 

// I chose 0.1V as a starting point and I plan to increase this slowly, monitoring the current.
   // I've seen this process explained somewhere on this forum.
   motor.target = 0.1;

What do you think? Am I overcautious? Or preparing for a disaster?

6Ω is not so low … but the best you can do , in my opinion, is starting with moderate values and increase to gradually controlling that everything does not get too hot.

1 Like

So I started the test as planned and got the following error:

MOT: Monitor enabled!
MOT: Init
MOT: Enable driver.
MOT: Align sensor.
MOT: sensor_direction==CW
MOT: PP check: fail - estimated pp:21.4450
MOT: Zero elec. angle: 4.11
MOT: Align current sense.
MOT: Align error!
MOT: Init FOC failed.
Motor commands sketch | Initial motion control > torque/voltage : target 0.1V.

Looking on this forum for solutions, I found out that the issue probably lies in my magnetic sensor. But before I investigate, I decided to forget about the sensor and to experiment with open loop.

So I took the open_loop_velocity_example and set the following code:

float target_velocity = 1;
  motor.voltage_limit = 0.1;
  motor.velocity_limit = 5;

And it worked!