Stepper motor speed problems - Balancing robot

Hey, I’m pretty new to simpleFOC but I’m trying to use it to build a balancing robot!

My setup is as follows:
Nema17 Stepper motors
AS5048a encoders via SPI
L289N Drivers
ESP32 (Using newest version of library so not the pwm issue from previous)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b9eZFD8hCGE

I’ve managed to get the robot balancing with closed loop velocity control (See video). But I’m having issues when I try and move the robot or introduce disturbances as the motors seem to be quickly hitting a velocity limit at around 10 rad/s and promptly falling over.

The weird problem I’m having is that when I’m testing velocities, I seem to be able to go faster in one direction (like 20 rad/s). I’m powering the motors with a 4S Lipo and I’ve got the voltage limit set to 12V, in one direction for some reason it is ramping up to that 12V much quicker.
Has anyone else had any weird issues with stepper motors like this? Let me know if there’s any more info that might help, thanks!

1 Like

@Neil_Harrison welcome!

This may be an indication that the motor and sensor are not perfectly aligned.

The initFOC function does it’s best job at working out where sensor/motor zero_electric_offset and direction but if you have low sensor resolution or high pole count (like with a stepper) it might be out.

It is possible to skip calibration and pass your own values into the function. If you print out motor.zero_electric_offset and sensor.natural_direction after calibration, you can use these as a starting point and adjust offset by ±0.05 increments until forward/reverse speeds are more even.

That is awesome, this has been one of the things I wanted to try also, well done! :smiley:

I would suggest you the same thing as Owen suggested. Go to the examples and find the zero offset and the direction for both motors.