Spinning a gimbal motor with an L298N or other basic controller?

Hi! I should say that this seems like an awesome community so I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts and I’ve been browsing other threads. Really cool stuff.

That being said, I need to spin a brushless gimbal motor at a fixed velocity. I’ve tried a few ESC’s and nothing seems to be able to spin it. It just jitters in place and makes weird sounds (hasn’t blown yet!). I suspect that they’re not able to drive it with the voltage they’re supplying or something else is off. I could be completely off base.

I don’t need encoder feedback/FOC. I just want to spin the gimbal motor ‘infinitely’.

Does anyone know of a simple solution to this problem using an L298n or other “purchasable” brushless motor driver? Price isn’t the issue but I would like something that is easy to obtain in this market and potentially something that I could integrate onto a board later.

Any help would be appreciated! I am pretty new to this. Thank you.

Hi @spinyourightround,

You should be able to move a gimbal motor using a L298N. Check out this post: 3$ BLDC and Stepper FOC driver - L298N - #6 by Antun_Skuric

Things to note:

• the main loop need to execute fast, you can’t call delay() or do lots of println()s in the main loop or it will interfere with the motor control
  • you need to set the pole-pairs correctly. Motor jittering about is often due to incorrect pole pairs. Small gimbal motors typically have 7 or 11 PP, but there are plenty of models with other numbers.
  • if you’re not working with a sensor, you want open-loop mode. Check our documentation for code examples.
  • set driver.voltage_power_supply, and set a driver.voltage_limit to some appropriate value. What is the resistance of your motor, and what voltage are you running at?

I think soon we’ll have your motor spinning!
Like a record, baby, right 'round, 'round, 'round :slight_smile: